ON THE BEACH
Thanks to the Beach Bill, a law enacted by the Oregon legislature,
all of Oregon's beaches are open and free to the public. For wedding
parties, this means that getting married to the accompaniment of breaking
waves and epic ocean views means simply walking onto the sand with
a ring and a prayer, so to speak.
The only hitch to this way of getting hitched may be access to the
beach. Beach access through a state park, for example, requires the
payment of a day use fee ($3 per car if the park is designated as
a day use park). Many of Oregon's top coastal parks require a day
use fee. There is no fee if someone just walks into the park.
If you choose to access the beach from a state wayside (parking area,
picnic tables, restrooms) or scenic viewpoint, there is no fee. Also,
keep in mind that crossing private property to access a beach is not
allowed, which means that you can't tramp through somebody's yard
with your wedding party, cake, minister and taffeta-dressed bridesmaids
in order to reach that perfect crescent of Oregon sand.
many of our parks offer covered shelters (varying from rustic to deluxe)
which are popular for weddings and receptions. Rental fees vary (typically
$50), and reservations are required. Click
here for a list of state parks that offer covered shelters, gazebos
or other group accommodations.
Wedding license fees may vary depending on the county. We'd suggest
contacting the County
Clerk's office in the county in which you will be married. If
you have a marriage license from another county in Oregon, you may
be allowed to use it. If you are applying for a marriage license along
the coast, in most cases, you can apply for a waiver of Oregon's three-day
waiting period. Keep in mind that there is an additional fee to receive
if you are applying for the wedding license after you arrive on
the coast, you'll need to have proper identification that includes
a photo and birth date. A driver's license, Military ID or passport
will also work. Finally, if you have been divorced within the last
six months you'll need to bring a copy of the divorce decree.
Now have a lovely wedding.